Introduction To The 7 Chakras

There are 7 chakras located throughout the energy body — Root, Sacral, Solar Plexus, Heart, Throat, Third Eye, and Crown. Read on for more information

What are the 7 chakras featured image

An Overview Of The 7 Chakras

What Are The 7 Chakras

The chakras are believed to be the energy centers of the body. They help to regulate the various processes that occur throughout the body and link the physical realm with the spiritual realm. Each chakra links a specific spiritual area of your life to your physical self.

The chakras vibrate with specific energy levels and are therefore represented by colors, as colors of course are specific energy levels of light. It is claimed that some people can see these colors, and can even see when the energy is out of balance.

The colors of the 7 chakras and their location can be seen in the diagram below. The names of the 7 chakras are highlighted in the relevant section, along with a brief description of each one and what it does.

The 7 Chakras and their colors
The 7 Chakras and their colors. Image by Clker-Free-Vector-Images from Pixabay

Root Chakra – Muladhara

The root chakra - Muladhara is red
The root chakra, Muladhara is red.
Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

The root chakra is the first of the seven chakras. It is the closest chakra to the earth, resting at the base of the spine, near the tailbone. It sets the foundation for your personal growth and personality to expand.

The root chakra influences your vitality, survival instinct, and fight or flight response. It relates to satisfying your basic needs including food, water, shelter, human connection, financial stability, nourishment, and your sense of belonging. Your sense of security, stability, and safety is also based here.

When the root chakra is balanced and functioning, you will feel grounded, prosperous, and supported in life.

Sacral Chakra – Svadhistana

The Sacral chakra - Svadhistana - is orange
The Sacral chakra, Svadhistana is orange.
Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

The sacral chakra is the second of the seven chakras. It is located right below the belly button and extends throughout the lower abdomen. The sacral chakra encapsulates your creativity, sensuality, prosperity, self-esteem, emotional responses, reproductive functions, pleasures, and frustrations.

This chakra creates the dynamics of your physical world and governs life lessons involving power, control, intimacy, inspiration, and satisfaction. The sacral chakra is all about having the power to realize and utilize your capacity to express your individuality, desires, and sensuality fully and freely.

When the sacral chakra is balanced, you will experience pleasure and overall enjoyment in life.

Solar Plexus Chakra – Manipura

The solar plexus chakra is yellow.
The solar plexus chakra, Manipura is yellow.
Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

The solar plexus chakra is the third of the seven chakras. It is located in the center of your abdomen, just below the rib cage. The wisdom of the solar plexus chakra involves your personal power, willpower, assertiveness, self-discipline, and power of transformation.

Your emotional memories are stored within the solar plexus, and it is where gut feelings develop. This chakra is all about honoring yourself, developing self-esteem and self-acceptance, forming an intuitive voice from within, and activating personal growth and inner strength.

When the solar plexus chakra is in balance, you will exude confidence, ambition, and a deep sense of purpose.

Heart Chakra – Anahata

the heart chakra - Anahata is green
The heart chakra, Anahata is green.
Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

The heart chakra is the fourth of the seven chakras. It is located at the body’s heart center and extends throughout the arms and hands. The heart chakra is believed to be the seat of the soul. Hope, joy, and generosity flow from the heart and project outwards into the world. It disperses and incorporates a spiritual understanding of love, affinity, connection, compassion, balance, and unity to everything you encounter.

When the heart chakra is balanced and in healthy alignment, you will see all the love and beauty around you, and feel deeply connected to yourself, others, and the natural world.

Throat Chakra – Vishuddha

The throat chakra, Vishudda is blue
The throat chakra, Vishudda is blue.
Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

The throat chakra is the fifth of the seven chakras. It is located in the throat, right in-between the collar bone. It governs communication, self-expression, and judgment. This chakra is your voice; it is about expressing your thoughts, feelings, and intentions freely, truthfully, authentically and without judgment.

Materialization and manifestation stem from the throat chakra. Every feeling, thought, word, and expression will impact your reality. When you express and embody authenticity, you will find alignment in your actions, experiences, and situations.

A balanced throat chakra allows you to affirm your choices, communicate lovingly and openly, and vocalize your appreciations.

Third Eye Chakra – Ajna

3rd eye chakra, Ajna is indigo
3rd eye chakra, Ajna is indigo.
Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

The third eye chakra is the sixth of the seven chakras. It is located above the eyes, directly in between the eyebrows. This chakra is the seat of intuition, dreams, wisdom, spiritual direction, and inner vision. It resonates with the energy of the psyche, as well as your intellectual powers, mental abilities, and psychological tendencies.

When the third eye chakra is balanced, your intuition will collaborate with the rational mind to assist you on your path to greater self-awareness, discovery, and purpose. You will transcend limiting beliefs, mental imprints, and irrational fears and instead operate from your highest good.

Crown Chakra – Sahasrara

The crown chakra, Sahasrara is purple
The crown chakra, Sahasrara is purple.
Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

The crown chakra is the last and highest of the seven chakras. It is located at the top of the head and radiates upwards towards the universe. The crown chakra is the energy that connects you to cosmic and universal forces. It is associated with transcendence, meditation, divineness, and oneness.

The crown radiates pure consciousness energy and serves to balance the inner and outer self. An activated crown chakra will bring a more positive outlook on life. Emotions like gratitude, acceptance, and compassion will become part of your embodiment.

When balanced, the crown chakra will enhance your connection to your identity, life purpose, and the divine.


The 7 Chakras are believed to be the energy centers of our body – through which spiritual and life giving energy flows. These chakras are specific colors, reflecting the type of energy which helps to keep them in balance.

When the chakras become out of balance their ability to respond to the energies becomes disrupted and we feel the effects through things like tiredness, irritability or the activity that the particular chakra is responsible for becomes impaired in some way.

There are various ways to keep your chakras in balance – and much of the time it’s simply about being conscious of their presence and living in accordance with their energies. If you feel you need a little more help balancing your chakras you can look at balancing chakras with crystals or undertaking regular meditation sessions to help the energies flow more efficiently.

If you’ve enjoyed this post please feel free to share it with your friends using the buttons below. If you have any comments, questions or other feedback please let us know using the comment form below.

Thanks for reading!